Skip to main content

KATHMANDU, August 25: The government has planned to build three forward terminals at three national airports. According to the Civil Aviation Authority of Nepal (CAAN), Biratnagar, Nepalgunj and Bharatpur airports have been chosen for the construction of the terminal in the current fiscal year.

These airports remain the country’s regional hub airports.

According to RCAS Deputy Director and Official Spokesperson, Jagannath Niraula, RCAS issued a notice on Wednesday to select contractors for the projects.

Niraula said airport terminals date back more than 50 years. Likewise, the movement of passengers has increased. The projects will be implemented within the framework of a three-year programme. The new structures will be equipped with conveyor belts.

According to CAAN, there are a total of 53 airports including these three in the country, and among them, 33 are in operation while 20 are yet to be commissioned.

Similarly, the number of airports with paved runways is 40.

Out of the three international airports in the country, Tribhuvan International Airport and Gautam Buddha International Airport are operational while Pokhara International Airport will come into operation from January 1, 2023.